pomen's parliament

AIPWA organized a women's Parliament in Patna on 9 August Kranti Diwas in support of a parallel Parliament organized on the same day at Jantar Mantar in Delhi to demand repeal of the 3 black farm laws.

Women from various Districts in Bihar participated in the Parliament. Prof Bharti S Kumar was duly elected Speaker of this Parliament. Five Bills were introduced at the Parliament regarding agriculture, labour, health, inflation, and oppression of women.

AIPWA State President Saroj Chaube introduced the Bill to repeal the Modi government's black farm laws and pass pro-people farm laws. Shashi Yadav introduced the Bill to include right to health in the fundamental rights. Samta Rai introduced the Bill to repeal anti-worker labour laws and to guarantee workers' rights. The Bill to curb rise in prices of cooking gas and food items was introduced by Rita Baranwal, while Madhuri Gupta introduced the Bill to end oppression of women.

The women Parliamentarians including Prof Divya Gautam, Advocate Manju Sharma, Dr Prema Devi, RJD Mahila Morcha leader Abhalata Yadav, Pratima Yadav, Juhi Nishan, Asma Khan, Afshan Zabeen, Rina Prasad, Damyanti Sinha, Jyoti Kumari and Anuradha Devi held animated discussions on all these 5 Bills which were then passed under the supervision of the Speaker.

Addressing the program, AIPWA General Secretary Meena Tiwari said that the movement on these issues will be intensified. She stressed that the Modi government must answer on the Pegasus issue and tell the citizens of India who is responsible for spying on them.