Dharna in Uttarakhand

ON 2 October 2019, CPIML and AIPWA organized a dharna at Lalkuan against the failure of justice even after 25 years for the victims of the Muzaffarnagar incident where the agitators for the separate Uttarakhand State were subjected to brutal violence and rapes.

Thousands of people agitating for a separate Uttarakhand State marching to Delhi on 2 October 1994 were surrounded at Muzaffarnagar Rampur Tiraha (tri-crossing) and fired upon, and women were raped by police personnel. The incident occurred during the then Mulayam government, under the orders of Collector Anant Kumar and SSP Bua Singh. At that time BJP leaders toured across the country with the ashes of the agitators demanding justice. But after they came to power in Uttar Pradesh both the guilty persons Anant Kumar and Bua Singh were promoted and made Secretaries. SP, BSP, and BJP governments have ruled in UP but even after 25 years justice has not been done.

AIPWA Convener Vimla Rauthan said that the BJP government is defending criminals and rapists like Chinmayanand, Sengar, and the Kathua rapists and murderers. The dharna demanded speedy punishment for the guilty and said that 2 October would remain a black spot on the history of Uttarakhand until justice is done. The Dharna was also addressed by CPIML leader Anand Negi.