Villagers against Coal Block Allotment to Adani

Hazaribagh, Barkagaon block. Villagers of Gondalpura panchayat have installed a signboard banning entry of coal mining companies on their village land. They are protesting with a sit-in continuing since 12 April 2023. The Modi government has allotted blocks for coal mining to Adani, NTPC and JSW in this area. Villagers have pledged to not give even an inch of their lands.

On 7 May leaders of left parties including CPIML leaders Devakinandan Bedia, Pachchu Rana, MCC's Rajendra Gope and RD Manjhi, CPI's Bhubaneswar Mehta and others joined protesting villagers in solidarity.