Left Parties Meet on Bihar’s New Teachers Appointment Rules

Left parties, CPI, CPIM, and CPIML, held a meeting on 29 April at CPI state office in Patna to discuss the needed changes in the new appointment rules made by Bihar government for teachers’ appointments. There was a promise in Mahagathbandhan manifesto of 2020 of regularising all teachers in the state which will not be fulfilled with the newly formed regulations. The meeting was presided over by CPIML leader KD Yadav, and attended by CPI state secretary Ramnaresh Pandey, CPIM’s Arun Mishra, Paliganj MLA Sandip Saurav, CPIM MLA Ajai Kumar, state general secretary of Madhyamik Sikshak Sangh Shatrughna Prasad Singh, MLC Sanjay Singh, CPIML central committee member Kumar Parvez, teachers’ leader Vijay Kumar and others.

The meeting concluded with a resolution to oppose the new teachers’ rule book 2023 which is not in accordance with the Mahagathbandhan promise made in 2020. The ‘Bihar Rajya Vidhyalaya Adhyapak Niyamawali-2023’ describes teachers as state employees which is a welcome step but at the same time it also requires for sitting an examination for becoming permanent for those who are already teaching in colleges. This raises doubts about not re-employing already working teachers. If these teachers were not able to teach they would have not been given existing jobs!

The teachers already working on non-permanent basis for years have in fact contributed immensely to the educational development of Bihar and their services were renewed from time to time whenever needed. Now making a condition to go for fresh tests is unjustifiable and an dishonour to their services. The various teachers’ organisations are now on the struggle path against this decision.

The left parties have demanded to implement the 2020 electoral promise and appoint as regular state employees all working teachers without any delay and without any further exam. They also demanded appointments of all applicants which are awaited for a long time without any further exams.